Fujitsu P1610

UPDATE: I fixed the links, they now lead to the Uber Tablet Article, from where you can watch the videos on YouTube. sorry for the inconvenience!

You may remember what I wrote about the Fujitsu P1510 Convertible Mini Tablet PC. Well, the 8.9″ dwarf has an improved sibling now, which still cuddles in your hand and gives you cramps from typing. The P1610 has the same casing as the 1510 did, but there are some major improvements right underneath it. So it is for example, that when the P1510 first hit the markets, the Case was just big enough to squeeze a few USB and standard slots under the hood. Now however it was possible to comfortably fit all that AND

-An SD Card Reader

-Integrated 3G wireless (with SIM card slot)

-a PCMCIA PC-Card slot for extended connectivity

-and a new integrated direct VGA out

Under the shiny black hood. These upgrades are huge, for especially the PC-Card slot were simply “Not possible 8 months Ago” (Hugo Ortega).

The 3G wireless is something nice that we all know from the very small and very expensive Flybook. It is very good especially when you have a Cellular flatrate, because you have general connectivity pretty much everywhere you ever go. To make use of this feature, all you do is undock the battery and slide in your SIM Card where it belongs.

However the greatest and most amazing of all new features and upgrades is the very special (very “crisp”) touch screen. While inking and taking notes on the Q1 or especially on the predecessor of this unit, the Fujitsu P1510, was an extremely difficult and hand tiring procedure, the P1610 lets you rest your hand on the touchscreen. That’s right- on the TOUCHscreen. As far as I know, this means you can still select icons and buttons with your finger, but when you ink with the integrated stylus, the new, smart Fujitsu technology recognizes only what’s relevant to you – the pen. The only compromises to this that I’m aware of are the Tablet Kiosk eo 1st gen UMPC with a 110 gram touch screen, and the OQO model 01+ with an active digitizer. However, these alternatives can’t cut it in the great connectivity and featuring of the Fujitsu P1610. I assure you – if I had the money, this baby would be the first device on my wish list to trade for my current unit.

In fact, I was right on buying the Fujitsu P1510, but when I came across the Inking problems I switched gears, and now call this Gateway CX2724 mine.

I DEFINATELY recommend you watch this video on YouTube. I haven’t yet received answer form Hugo on how he always gets the cool toys, though 😀 .

Well, I’ll find time for you guys later on again, so stay tuned on Ink+ !

//F2theD

5 Responses to “Fujitsu P1610”


  1. 1 Uk Guy September 18, 2006 at 3:24 pm

    YouTube link is to a private video – cant watch 😦

  2. 2 f2thed September 18, 2006 at 5:32 pm

    Do you mean the link doesn’t work? please let me know, so that I can fix the problem! Thanx

    //F2theD

    NEVER MIND, I FIXED THE LINKS. THANKS FOR THE TIP UK GUY, AND SORRY FOR THE INCONVENIENCE!

  3. 3 Hugo Ortega September 25, 2006 at 12:11 pm

    Hi F2theD!

    Thanks for the shout out, and thank you for your enthusiasm. I’ve had the P1610 for the last few days and am really enjoying it. Fujitsu asked me to take the video down due to the overwhelming response they had received! Too funny… I guess they underestimated the power of the blog (my blog).

    In regards to your questio “how he always gets the cool toys, though”, all I can say is that I’m lucky – all these devices come to me!

    Keep up the great work!!!

  4. 4 AL December 27, 2006 at 4:32 am

    Does anyone miss having an optical drive on the P1510 or P1610? I think I might, so who makes an equally portable external drive to add on?

  5. 5 caleb January 15, 2007 at 10:34 am

    nice sound of a microwave and someone, gf or bf? cooking dinner during the vega video unwrapping.


Leave a Reply

